Moon & stars over waterfalls in Maligne Canyon

Brian Catto, if you are reading this…See! You can get this picture!!

(Brian is Jasper National Park’s head interpreter and told me – rightly so – I was insane…well, perhaps overly-optimistic, to think I could get a shot of the water down in this canyon AND the stars above.

Turns out all I needed was the most useless lens on Earth for doing anything but shooting stars above canyons ; )

This shot of the stars & Moon over Maligne Canyon was taken just a few days before Jasper National Park and Dark Sky Preserve’s inaugural dark sky festival

Taken with a 6.5mm fisheye lens, with a 180-degree field of view, the channel of water before (above) the falls here is horizontal. The falls (as you may imagine) are vertical. Then the rest below is horizontal.

The pool shimmering in the moonlight at bottom is almost where my feet were…except nearly 200 feet below.

Leave a comment